Reinstate Jeremy Corbyn – Unite to Fight the Tories, Socialist Campaign Group of Labour MPs Statement


“We oppose the suspension of former Labour Party Leader Jeremy Corbyn and call for his suspension now to be quickly reversed.”

We oppose the suspension of former Labour Party Leader Jeremy Corbyn and call for his suspension now to be quickly reversed.

The publication of the EHRC report ought to have been an important moment for the Labour Party to reflect and move forward together in the battle against antisemitism.

Instead, we now face chaos and division in the party, with a former Labour Party leader suspended, demoralising many members who the Party needs to be active in their communities in the fight against the Tories. 

We share the views of the leaders of seven trade unions affiliated to our Party who expressed “serious concerns about the manner of and rationale for suspension of the former party leader Jeremy Corbyn” and call for a “unifying way forward.”

Our communities are being hit by the greatest public health crisis in generations and the deepest economic collapse in decades. A united Labour movement that takes the fight to the Tories is more important than ever. 

Now is the time for our movement to unite behind the implementation of the EHRC’s recommendations; to force the government to change track from the disastrous path it is pursuing in relation to Coronavirus; to fight the wave of racism and scapegoating targetting Black, Jewish, Asian and other minority communities that is likely to increase even further in a period of deep economic crisis; and to fight for a Labour government. 

We believe that members are the lifeblood of our Party and our movement and call on members dismayed by this suspension of Jeremy Corbyn and thinking of leaving to stay and fight for his reinstatement and for the policies for the many not the few that working-class communities in all their diversity need at this time more than ever. 

  • Diane Abbott MP
  • Tahir Ali MP
  • Apsana Begum MP
  • Christine Blower
  • Pauline Bryan
  • Richard Burgon MP
  • Ian Byrne MP
  • Katy Clark
  • Mary Foy MP
  • John Hendy
  • Ian Lavery MP
  • Rebecca Long-Bailey MP
  • John McDonnell MP
  • Ian Mearns MP
  • Grahame Morris MP
  • Kate Osborne MP
  • Bell Ribeiro-Addy MP
  • Zarah Sultana MP
  • Jon Trickett MP
  • Claudia Webbe MP
  • Mick Whitley MP
  • Beth Winter MP

Leave a Reply