The fight for climate action must be at the heart of everything as we rebuild after the pandemic – Socialist Campaign Group Statement


Socialist Campaign Group of Labour MPs statement on a Green New Deal

“The recovery from covid-19 must tackle the urgent climate crisis facing our planet. With the highest ever temperatures recorded in the Arctic Circle we cannot delay in taking action to save our planet and future generations.

We believe that the necessary and urgent action must consider not only the historic responsibility of the UK in greenhouse gas emissions, but also the need for a just transition for workers employed in the energy industry.

Thanks to work of campaigners, trade union representatives of energy workers and others, since Conference 2019 Labour Party policy includes:

  • International exchange of technology and expertise to support other countries’ transitions
  • A path to net zero by 2030
  • A ban on fracking
  • A just transition, based on public ownership of an integrated, democratic energy sector
  • Free or affordable green public transport
  • Ecological restoration to increase biodiversity
  • Welcoming climate refugees
  • Building and retrofitting social and council housing with low embedded carbon

We support the recommendations of Labour’s 2019 report ‘Thirty by 2030’, and the work of Labour for a Green New Deal in continuing to push for Labour Conference policy to be made a reality, to save our planet for our children, and to fight for climate action to be at the heart of everything our country does as we rebuild after the coronavirus pandemic.

  • Diane Abbott MP
  • Tahir Ali MP
  • Paula Barker MP
  • Apsana Begum MP
  • Christine Blower
  • Pauline Bryan
  • Richard Burgon MP
  • Dawn Butler MP
  • Ian Byrne MP
  • Shami Chakrabarti
  • Jeremy Corbyn MP
  • John Hendy
  • Ian Lavery MP
  • Clive Lewis MP
  • John McDonnell MP
  • Ian Mearns MP
  • Grahame Morris MP
  • Kate Osamor MP         
  • Kate Osborne MP
  • Bell Ribeiro-Addy MP
  • Zarah Sultana MP
  • Jon Trickett MP
  • Claudia Webbe MP
  • Mick Whitley MP
  • Nadia Whittome MP

Leave a Reply